From Ant to Eagle by Alex Lyttle

Expected Publication:  April 1st 2017 32202503Genres: Young Adult/Middle grade

Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing

Pages: 224 pages

Reading from: eARC sent by publisher

Do I recommend it: YES YES YES YES YES Grab a box of tissues

Trigger Warning: Cancer and depression

Summary from Goodreads:

My name is Calvin Sinclair, I’m eleven years old and I have a confession… …I killed my brother.

It’s the summer before grade six and Calvin Sinclair is bored to tears. He’s recently moved from a big city to a small town and there’s nothing to do. It’s hot, he has no friends and the only kid around is his six-year-old brother, Sammy, who can barely throw a basketball as high as the hoop. So Cal occupies his time by getting his brother to do almost anything: from collecting ants to doing Calvin’s chores. And Sammy is all too eager – as long as it means getting a “Level” and moving one step closer to his brother’s Eagle status.

When Calvin meets Aleta Alvarado, a new girl who shares his love for Goosebumps books and adventure, Sammy is pushed aside. Cal feels guilty but not enough to change. At least not until a diagnosis makes things at home start falling apart and he’s left wondering whether Sammy will ever complete his own journey…

My Thoughts

I was sent this copy by the publisher in exchange for a honest review, all my opinion are mine though.

I was a bit tedious about reading this. I read multiples cancer books and only enjoyed a few. Another thing that concerned me was the main characters were so young. The book was filled with heartfelt messages. And let me tell you you will ball your eyes out.  It a great book and I recommend it to everyone. Yesterday I was halfway through it. I had about hundred pages left, and I was like I’ll just finish it. I regret it, by the time i got to sleep my eyes were red and puffy. I couldn’t sleep this book messed up my feels.820112

So Yes this a cancer book but let me tell you this book focuses on so much. I think this is the first book that I’ve read that affected the sibling.  I was and still am super impressed the way everything felt so real and raw. Our main character feels so real, he feel so real. You believe everything, you feel his pain, and feel his guilt. Anyone who an older brother or sister can relate to this. There is lots of important topics throughout this book, we get to see the need and want of protecting your little sibling, how family is affected with having a family member with cancer, the grief and guilt of being the survivor. Another thing I loved about this book was that the characters were all flawed, and how all the characters were facing there own difficulties.  It was such a quick read.

A heartwarming story that pulls at your heartstrings throughout the whole story about cancer,grief,  friendship, and siblings

Rating(out of 5):duckling4.png duckling4duckling4duckling4duckling4

Tissue rating (out of 5): face-tissue-box-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-xnt1uj-clipartface-tissue-box-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-xnt1uj-clipartface-tissue-box-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-xnt1uj-clipartface-tissue-box-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-xnt1uj-clipartface-tissue-box-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-xnt1uj-clipart

How much do I recommend it:

To the stars and the back go get it when it comes out

4 comments

Leave a Reply

