Frostblood Book Review

Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1)

Published January 10th 2017

Genres: Young Adult27827203

Reading from: ebook

Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 376 pages

Series or Standalone: Series

Recommend: YES!! Absolutely Fun read

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

 The frost king will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.
Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love.

 

 


So Frostblood is just one of those books that grabs your attention spontaneously , you see the cover and you’re like i need to read this. But when you read the the synopsis YOU NEED THE BOOK IN YOUR HANDS.The cover is amazing and grabs your attention as well as the synopsis. The book is fast paced, and is such a wonderful read. From the moment I started it, I knew I wouldn’t be able to put it down. It engrossed me, not being able to set it down at any moment. This book was a roller coaster of fun.  From the first sentence I was beyond hooked, it just kept me wanting more and more. When I FIRST READ THE SYNOPSIS THIS WHAT  I IMAGINED:

21885698

and that’s pretty much what i got?!!!!

Ooooooooo and there’s also a hate to love relationship, THEY ARE SO GOOD AND FUN TO READ, IT HAS SOME OF THE BEST DIALOGUE. Ooooo and the love interest is block of ice? Like how amazing is that:

“She’s not yours to name.”
“She’s mine in spirit now that we’ve had an adventure together. And her name suits her. She’s soft and yellow, like butter.”
He made a disgusted sound. “If we all had names to suit us, you’d be called Thorn in My Backside. Or Plague of the Gods.”
I prickled at his scathing tone. “And you’d be Miserable Blockhead.”
“Is that the best you can do?”
“Give me time. I’m half frozen.”

 

The first chapter gave me so many feels too, like from the 1st chapter wow I was completely heartbroken , and was attempting to keep in the tears. It captured my attention and it was so well written

The world building was fantastic, and so well done. It didn’t info dump you, it explained the world in a really good way. I was beyond impressed  by this. It was cleverly done, although it wasn’t necessarily  a unique world however it had its own thing, and was absolutely  well written.  If you enjoyed Red Queen and Throne Of glass, I think you’ll enjoy it.

The characters were also greatly fleshed out, they were really fun to read. They all felt realistic and somewhat relatable at times. I really enjoyed Ruby’s character she kinda like an anti hero in a way, she kinda reminded me like Adelina (From the Young Elites).

BY THE WAY ARCUS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

21858946


 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: ELLY BLAKE

14674797.jpg
Elly Blake loves fairy tales, old houses, and owls. After earning a BA in English literature, she held a series of seemingly random jobs, including project manager, customs clerk, graphic designer, reporter for a local business magazine, and library assistant. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and a Siberian Husky mix who definitely shows Frostblood tendencies.

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. Hi there!!
    Just found your blog thanks to your bookstagram giveaway. Geez, I’d been following your Instagram account for a while and had no clue you had a blog. Totally following you now ❤
    Btw, lovelyyy review! I didn't know the book but really enjoyed your post.
    I have a bookish blog as well. I'm natively a spanish speaker so it's mainly in spanish, but if you scroll down in my book reviews you'll find the english version. The link to my blog is http://miuniversoliterariowriter.blogspot.com/ in case you want to stop by.
    xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

