Song of the Current Review

Published: June 6th 201731450960

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy

Reading from: ARC

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Pages: 373 pages

Recommend: *heart eyes* PLEASE DO READ THIS

Rating: infinite stars /5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn‚Äôt spoken her name yet‚ÄĒand if he hasn‚Äôt by now, there‚Äôs a chance he never will.

Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo‚ÄĒan arrogant courier with a secret‚ÄĒand without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.

From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark

Pre-Order: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

MY THOUGHTS

So wow this book deserves all the hype ever right now. Its honestly one of my favorite books of 2017, and just one of my favorite fantasy books ever. It had amazing characters, amazing chemistry. Its one of those book that captures your attention from the beginning. From the very 1st page I didn’t want it to end, I kept wanting the book to somehow magically get longer.

I was struck by the beauty and clever story, I loved how everything was so well developed, and how I couldn’t seem to put it down at any time.

Its characters are richly flawed, and have a great sense of story. I loved the MC, she’s totally baddass but she still likes dresses.  I loved her because she just didn’t have to be one thing, she wasn’t your stereotypical girl. She was cool( the understatement of the year).

I recommend going into this book without knowing what you’re about to read. It really makes the whole process of reading this book so much MORE FUN and enjoyable.

I don’t want to say too much but it has a real cute/nice romance. OH AND IT HAS LADY PIRATES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! First book i’ve read with pirates (if anyone has any book recommendations with pirates leave them down below?) Oh and the romance is hate to love trope! *heart eyes*
All I have to say now is that you NEED THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE JUST GO PRE-ORDER IT

5 comments

  1. Ahh I just recently read & reviewed this book myself (http://penandparchment.org/review-song-of-the-current/) and totally agree with everything you said!! It’s definitely one of my top 2017 reads, I loved all the seafaring adventure and THE ROMANCE! I was totally obsessed haha! Caro was one of the best protagonists I’ve read about in a while, she just felt so realistic. There were so many twists that I enjoyed too, I absolutely can’t wait for the sequel! Glad to see that there’s someone else out there I can fangirl with! ūüôā

    Like

  2. Oh, and if you haven’t yet the Reader has some interesting pirates, and if you like adult books The Ties that Bind series has some. I haven’t read the whole series yet, but enjoyed the Bound Folio ūüôā

    Like

Leave a Reply

