Lord Of Shadows Review

Published: May 23rd 201730312891

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy, Paranormal

Reading from: Hardcover

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Pages: 701 pages

Recommend: Yeah, its a satisfying sequel to Lady Midnight

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

Would you trade your soul mate for your soul?

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.

My Thoughts

So the first thing I have to say is that this book is too long, way too long.This book could be shortened into 400 pages easily. It wa somewhat longer than Lady Midnight, but there was a difference the plot and the romance was quite cleaner but in Lord Of Shadows in my opinion was kinda of a mess. I feel like perhaps it has too many characters, for my liking usually i’m okay with lots of characters. But this one in my opinion was just a mess. I did love some characters and then some of them I was indifferent towards them.

Spoilers Beware

Stuff that happened:

  • I really enjoyed Diana’s character in this book, although I had guessed her secret, it was a nice surprise along with her romance in the book.
  • This book has lots of diversity, and it didn’t feel forced at all.
  • Tavvy was super cute in this book
  • I LOVE JULIAN! He’s quite different from Cassandra Clare’s past male characters. He will do anything for his family, and its just so wonderful.
  • Ty, Livvy, and Kit whole story line was incredible, I loved every moment of it, it honestly boosted up my rating for this book about 1 star.  Although I have to say I enjoyed Kit and Ty more than than Livvy.
  • Although Jessamine’s character was quite wonderful in this book, I really loved it. Especially her conversion with Kit, it was amazing. Although I have a bone to pick with Kit, calling my William Herondale an idiot after he left behind his legacy on the books. I also love his journey of acceptance to be a Herondale  and a  shadowhunter.
  • The whole Mark/Cristina/Kieran/Mark/Zara,  mess in my opinion was kinda annoying. It was so angsty I love the characters individually but they are a mess. Although Zara can go die, and her racist friends can all go die.
  • Julian and Emma whole problem too, was kinda boring. I love Julian, but i’m kinda indifferent to Emma.  Its kinda dramatic, and a bit over dramatic. I know the whole forbidden thing, but I felt no chemistry between them.  Hey but they at least talked and kinda worked things out things…………………….
  • Also all those references to The Infernal Devices, made me cry. And just made me super excited for The Last Hours
  • Also the deaths that happened were quite unexpected she killed one major character, which I was not expecting at all. I admire that Cassandra Clare spiced things up and killed a major character, a thing she hasn’t done before.

Overall I just found this book just kinda boring, and felt that it dragged on so many levels, it  was quite boring at times. But there was some key moments throughout the book.

Also I need to know why nobody remembers Jem and Tessa’s wedding like why ? I NEED ANSWERS , I RALLY NEED ANSWERS. THE ONLY THING THAT’S BEEN KILLING ME.

Share your thoughts on this book down below? I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about Lord Of Shadows or any of Cassie’s previous works…. Although please be beware of spoilers.

 

6 comments

  1. OKAY I AGREE WITH LIKE EVERYTHING YOU JUST SAID. What’s kinda weird is (I don’t know if I’m the only one but) I imagined Diana to be kinda old…Anyways, you’re right about the diversity not being forced and it’s awesome. I love how Jace is like kinda so self absorbed and then Julian is like flailing to help his family 24/7 it’s SO SWEET. They’re like polar opposites but I love them both!! And Ty, Livvy, and Kit OMG I JUST THOUGHT OF SOMETHING; they’re kinda like the golden trio of SHADOWHUNTERS. 😂😂Zara made me so mad I can’t even TELL YOU. And SAMANTHA. AGHHHH DIE. (agreed 😂)

    Like

  2. I really have no intention to read her books because it’s lengthy and that I will have a problem of rating it. Yes she has several characters one could get fond but the length of her books is just ‘meh’ to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

