Lucky In Love ARC Review

Published: July 25, 201730285562

Genres: Young Adult Romance

Reading from: eARC

Publisher: Scholastic

Pages: 352 pages

Recommend: Really cute: fans for Windfall, and any of her previous works

Rating: 3 /5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.

 

 

MY THOUGHTS

I have always been a huge Kasie West fan. She wrote some of my favorite contemporaries such as The Fill-in Boyfriend and The Distance Between Us. But as I found myself reading Lucky in Love , I kept getting more upset over the fact that I didn’t really enjoy this book as much.

So Lucky In Love follows a high school senior, Maddie. She is super absorbed with school, she’s the kind of girl who plans ahead for every moment and tried to make everything extremely perfect. She has everything planned out and boys aren’t there to interfere. She has ‘two” great friends, who she has a “no boyfriends pact” with( i think that’s ridiculous but whatever) After a horrible 18th birthday, Maddie decides to buy a lottery ticket, and somehow she wins $50,000,000(what a big win). Then her life starts turning a bit psychotic? Everything starts heading downhill from there because money can’t buy happiness right?

So this book quite was kinda hard get into, it wasn’t bad but it really wasn’t that great either. It just didn’t live up to the rest of her books in my opinion.  Kasie West writes the classic story of money, it can’t buy happiness, and how it can change people, everyone you love and everything around you. Maddie does what the classic protagonist who wins the lottery does, she spends her money on bizarre things, she decided to change everyone’s lives around her. Suddenly a turmoil of events happens, Maddie soon realizes the damage of money can do to someone. She doesn’t know who to trust and all the light dims out of life.

What I didn’t like about this book was that it just felt no one really cared?

I didn’t really any of the characters in the book, Maddie missed the mark for me. She was kinda bland, and overly exaggerated.

I also felt that it was a tad bit unrealistic that that she got into Stanford like sure her grades were great and all, but that’s all she really had?

I really liked the love interest, and the romance story it was slow burning and sadly wasn’t the main part of the story, but it was extremely cute. Seth was just a really well rounded character, flawed but extremely sweet.

Also her friends were honestly horrible friends, they had a lack of understanding for her. I don’t understand how they were friends, they were horrible towards her.

And that’s it, I can’t wait to her next book, because it sounds amazing. But I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this book.

And just for fun I compiled a list of what I would do if I won the lotter.

  • pay for college(obviously)
  • build an underground bunker
  • buy some books
  • buy a car
  • Buy my parents a house
  • see the world
  •  Donate the charities/ libraries/cancer research/etc….

What would you do if you won the lottery?

13 comments

  1. The way you talk about this kind of makes me think about how I felt about Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith. The main character doesn’t win the lottery, her friend does, but he acts just like the main character does in this one and I kind of hated him tbh. Which sucks be he was the love interest and I didn’t find it enjoyable at all.
    I’m sorry this was disappointing though. I feel like her books are kind of hit or miss and I guess this was a miss.

    Like

    • I feel like I enjoyed Windfall a bit more than lucky in love. I feel like teddy in the end had a bit of redemption and character growth. I sadly didn’t feel the main character had redemption. She was impulsive and kinda ridiculous.
      I loved Kasie’s other books they were all so cute and adorable sadly this one fell flat for me

      Like

  2. I actually liked this book (I got an e-ARC from the blog tour), and it was my first Kasie West (what a shocker!). I really like how she writes fluffy YA contemporary romance! I’m sad you didn’t like it as much but I’m looking forward to her upcoming works! And I get to interview Kasie for the tour! 🙂

    Like

  3. This really reminds me of Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith but I think you’ll find Windfall more enjoyable. It’s not perfect but I did enjoy the characters and their developments. But I don’t think I’ll read this one. I just can’t say I’m a Kasie West fan. I find her books a bit cliched and boring, tbh.

    Like

    • I actually enjoyed Windfall a lot more than lucky in love. It had a much better character development than this one. Oh that stinks. I love cliche books but I completely understand that you’re not a kasie west fan.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t get me wrong. I love my cliches too but they have to have this huge effect on me. The way I did with A Thousand Boy Kisses by Tillie Cole. It was a total hodgepodge of cliches but at the end of the day, it turned me into an emotional wreck and I loved it ever since.

        Like

Leave a Reply

