The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue Review

by: Mackenzi Lee 29283884

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: YA

Expected publication: June 27th 2017

TRIGGER WARNINGS FOR: homophobia, epilepsy, racism,racial slurs, ableism, PTSD, alcoholism, abuse

Rating: 5/5, 98%, A+

Summary from Goodreads:

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

My Thoughts

This book is insanely popular, and it sure does deserve it. I highly recommend it, especially if you love YA, or Historical Fiction.

So this book was really fun, completely different from what I was expecting. It was fun and made me laugh out loud quite a bit, It was quite romantic and made you swoon. If by the end you’re not shipping Percy and Monty I honestly don’t understand.

I loved the characters, and loved their development throughout the journey.

Also the amount of diversity in this book made me want to cry, like really cry.

Monty: Or Henry was rather endearing character, but also a very hard character to sometimes to read.  He’s a bisexual boy who rather captured in an unrequited love story  with his best friend Percy. Henry is drowned in his own self loathing and feelings for Percy, that his life rather turmoils and doesn’t seem to capture or notice anything else around him.  Alcohol, sex and bad behavior follow him and just has a rather infamous for his bad behavior.  He really has a great character growth, I personally loved him by the end of the book.

Percy: is biracial, gay and epileptic  who faces oppression and ableism. He also faces marginalization. I really enjoyed reading it because it was never normalizes it.  Percy was also very kind, and thoughtful about everyone else, but sometimes could be irrational. I also liked how when privileged characters were making harmful comments they were called out.

Felicity: was an adorable character. I really loved her. A massive bookworm and determined to learn. She also quite a feminist(AHH!). I’m almost completely sure that she’s asexual(although I’m not completely sure?)

 Overall this book is lots of fun. And I HIGHLY RECOMMEND to everyone

13 comments

  1. Another amazing review for this book!! It seems like everyone loves it!! I have a copy coming in the mail, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it and see what all the hype is about already!!

    Like

  2. Great review! Totally following for your reviews. Also this is one of my favorite books of 2017. Monty is such a lovable bastard and Percy, along with Felicity are the ones to put his ass in his place when need be. I hope there’s a follow-up novel. I need these three back in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

